TRAVEL

Chicago Diaries

There is something about this city that always draws me back. I can’t figure out what it is, but “it” is so appealing. The riverwalk, the lake, deepdish, people, festivals, the list goes on and on.

The last couple of times I was in Chicago, it was the summer. Pleasant, lively, and colorful. But his time I had the absolute privelage of visiting the windy city in the winter(despite everyone telling me I’m crazy) and it blew my mind.

Let’s be honest. Chicago is cold. Very cold. But there are very few places in the world that you can see a giant frozen lake. Yes, I am talking about Lake Michigan. I have never seen anything like it. Miles and miles into the lake, it was rock solid. The waves were made into statues, motionless and stuck in time. The water had pushed formed ice onto ledges until the entire body froze.

Don’t forget the ice skating at Millenium Park!

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

It was Martin Luther King Weekend and the city had beautiful signs and dedications to the late leader. It was peaceful, serene, and welcoming.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Chicago to me, is my home away from home. While nothing will ever replace Charlotte, Chicago comes pretty close. I’ve always wanted to live in a big city, and while every girls dream is New York, don’t forget to give “The Heart of America” its chance to shine!

Leave a Reply

